Cancer Council Australia

Larger Text Smaller Text Print

Board and governance

Our Board is responsible for strategic decision and policy-making activities of Cancer Council Australia. The Board comprises

  • an elected Chair
  • a nominee from each state and territory member organisation
  • three additional nominees, one each from NSW, Queensland and Victoria
  • a nominee of the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia
  • a nominee who is a consumer.

Board committees

There are three Board committees:

  • the Executive Committee consults with the Chief Executive Officer on managerial and other issues delegated by the Board
  • the Finance, Risk and Audit Committee oversees the audit of business and operational matters, identifies and manages business risk, and advises on matters relating to financial performance and budget development
  • the Governance Committee oversees and advises the Board on issues relating to the current review of the constitution and on other matters relating to governance.
See our Board members below and click here for Cancer Council Australia's Government Statement

Mr Hugh Harley


Professor Jeremy Millar

Deputy Chair, Cancer Council Victoria

Mr David Bowker

Cancer Council Tasmania

Professor Fran Boyle

Clinical Oncology Society of Australia

Ms Annette Burke

Cancer Council Northern Territory

Ms Trisha Cashmere

Consumer Director

Mr Roger Buckley

Cancer Council Australian Capital Territory

Dr John Laker

Cancer Council NSW

Ms Jenny Parker

Cancer Council Queensland

A/Prof Marion Saville

Cancer Council Victoria

Dr Ruth Shean

Cancer Council Western Australia

Ms Jennifer Richter

Cancer Council South Australia

Ms Patricia Schmidt

Cancer Council Queensland

This page was last updated on: Thursday, May 28, 2020

Web design Code and Visual